First Sign

holland-tulips

 

As I walked out the door this morning

I said to myself, ” Are my eyes playing tricks on me?”  “Could it really be?”

I looked again and sure enough there in the flowerbed

I saw the first sign of Spring. Wonderful, glorious white snowdrops

had burst forth from their cold winter’s sleep.

There is something about the first blooms that make a gardener’s heart

beat faster in anticipation of seeing the landscape they designed come to life.

Often it is the smallest, simplest things in life that bring me the most joy.

With a spring in my step and a smile on my face,  I got in the car

and drove to church.

 

 

9 thoughts on “First Sign

  1. I am anxiously awaiting the first blooms of spring. Our weather here in Michigan has been so crazy this winter that I don’t think the poor plants know what to do! I did see a robin last week- that first sign that the winter gray will soon disappear is a welcome sign. Enjoy your spring steps.

    Like

  2. So pretty. We have trees blooming in the South already. 🙂

    Like

  3. I remember the joy of spotting the crocus flowers poking their heads through the snow. Enjoy your garden this year!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yay spring! Even when we get “no spring” it’s better than waiting for winter to sigh its last breath.

    Like

  5. Ok. I like a sign of spring here or there. 🙂 your heart is happy. My heart gets happy when those first flakes fall down from the sky. 🙂

    Like

  6. I know that feeling that comes with the first sighting of blossoms in an early spring garden. It does put a spring in your step (pun intended!). I suspect it will be a while longer before I experience it, but I’m happy for you! Enjoy!

    Like

  7. I felt those exact same happiness pangs when I saw a robin the other day!! I love your words. They flow so beautifully! Excited about spring coming with a spring in your step. Yeah!!!!

    Like

  8. Beginning with spring and joy and topping it off with church, yay!

    Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

