Literally A Balancing Act

I had just finished working at my computer and was ready to go to bed. As I pulled myself up from my computer chair, the room moved back and forth. Steadying myself,  I regained my balance. I carefully proceeded with my bedtime routine. My body quickly succumbed to slumber. As morning approached, I started to toss restlessly. The bathroom was calling to me. Up I went, but once again that helpless feeling washed over me. I felt as if I  was being tossed about in a dingy on the high seas. Oh this is not good I thought to myself. How would I get through my day?

Eventually, the vertigo subsided and I was able to get through my morning.However, any  quick movements could have sent me into a tailspin. I tried to drink my vanilla chai but experienced excruciating pain in my left ear with each swallow. Oh I know that throbbing pain! Boom, boom, boom was the sound echoing in my ear. That undeniable shooting pain you get when you have an inner ear infection. I knew I needed  to see the doctor.  I dialed and finally reached a receptionist after listening to elevator music for 5 minutes. ” Are there any openings today.” I asked. Not till Monday was the answer. There was no way I could wait 5 days to get in. My pain level was at least an 8.5 on a scale of 1 to 10.  Luckily, there was a minute clinic close to my home. So I drove over, signed in, and waited an hour to see the physician on duty. Although, I really didn’t  need it, the physician confirmed that I indeed had an inner ear infection not only in my left ear but also in my right. Sinus congestion and inner ear infection had thrown my equilibrium out of whack.  So with one dose of antibiotics in my system, it’s time for me to say goodnight and catch some zzzzz’s.

 

6 thoughts on “Literally A Balancing Act

  1. Ugh! Those tell-tale signs that your day has just changed into something you didn’t expect or want. I hope you feel better soon!

    Like

  2. Oh! Get better quick! That spinning room is no fun at all. I was just there and feel for you. Kudos for you slicing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t know how you managed to write a piece today feeling the way you do. Bravo!

    Like

  4. Oh no! I’m glad you got in to see a doctor. I hope you are on the road to recovery! Take care of yourself!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hope you’re feeling much, much better today!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!<3

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

